Partner Q & A: Amy Friedman Cecil

Amy Friedman CecilAmy Friedman Cecil has been an LASVP Partner since 2011, and she’s doing it all. From Fast Pitch to investees to Partner education, Amy’s there!

Q: How were you introduced to LASVP?

Amy: I was introduced to LASVP by my good friend Nancy Hammerman.  She took me to a open house event where I heard many people speak about the organization.  I was really impressed with the impact LASVP had on both its investees and its partners.  I was also excited by the diversity and energy of the partners.  By the end of the afternoon I had committed to LASVP and am very glad to have made that decision.

Q: What is your favorite part of being involved in LASVP?

Amy: My favorite part about my LASVP involvement is the range of experience it offers.  Since joining last year I have consulted with GrowingGreat and have led a focus group to get input on a new service delivery module. I am part of the Fast Pitch planning team and have participated in the pre-screen and full application review and selection and am assisting at the Fast Pitch coaching sessions (yes- that was me with the camera).  I am also part of the Partner Education committee along with Amy Johnson and Ellen Sloan.  This is a wonderful opportunity to work with two very intelligent women at very different trajectories of their careers and to create a curriculum which will have a broad and deep influence over how and what partners can learn through this organization.

Q: What inspires you to make a difference?

Amy: I have been a volunteer since my childhood.  What I have learned is how very little it takes to change someone’s life for the better.  You don’t need much experience, or much time, money or effort to make an impact.  But with a greater investment of any or all of the foregoing, magical things can happen. I am constantly amazed by the way in which the process of working with others is so rich and rewarding.

Q: What do you listen to when you’re stuck in traffic?

Amy: My traffic distraction really depends on my state of mind.  If I am calm I can listen to KCRW/NPR or KPFC, although the broadcast material itself might get me upset.  If the traffic is really bad I may have to blast Ben Folds or the Decemberists to keep me going. If I am in need of soothing, it is a toss-up between classical or Joni Mitchell on CD.

Q: Who was your favorite teacher in school?

Amy: My favorite was Mrs. Hibblein, my first grade teacher, because she was so supportive and kind.  This is my best memory of her: We were sculpting an animal to go with a book we had been reading and I was trying to fashion wings for my swan. I could not get the wings to stand up because the dough was too heavy.  She came over and told me not to give up, but rather to imagine what the swan looked like in many positions.  She said she knew I could make it work (shades of Tim Gunn).  When she came back, I had carved lines on the swan’s back and told her that his wings were folded.  She was so delighted at the way I solved the problem that even at that age I felt empowered.  That first grade swan still sits on my desk.

Q: What do you think is the biggest barrier to creating social change?

Amy: Imagination and implementation.  There are so many barriers: financial, partisan politics, lack of time, a lack of hands and help, the incredible magnitude and complexity of the problems which need to be addressed. It sometimes seems that large-scale social change is impossible and this is disheartening.  But then someone imagines a better life and has the courage to implement their idea and things happen.  It takes imagination to see that change is possible, to craft a shape it can take, and then to see it to fruition.

You can learn more about our Partners, here on our website. 

Leave a Reply

